Author bio

Author Image

Cressida McLaughlin - book author

I grew up in London surrounded by books and with a cat named after Lawrence of Arabia. I studied English Literature at the University of East Anglia and live in Norwich with my husband David.

I'm a total book nerd and my TBR pile is out of control. I would quite like to be a ghost hunter, and I'm a huge fan of a fictional hero.

When I'm not writing, I spend my spare time reading, returning to London or exploring the beautiful Norfolk coastline.

I love hearing from readers, so please get in touch if you have a question or if you just want to say hello.

Cressida McLaughlin is the author of books: All Aboard (The Canal Boat Café, #1), Casting Off (The Canal Boat Café, #2), Land Ahoy! (The Canal Boat Café, #4), The Cornish Cream Tea Bus, Cabin Fever (The Canal Boat Café, #3), The Canal Boat Café, The Canal Boat Café Christmas: Starboard Home (The Canal Boat Café Christmas, Book 2), The Canal Boat Café Christmas: Port Out (The Canal Boat Café Christmas, Book 1), Don’t Go Baking My Heart, Wish You Were Here (The Once in a Blue Moon Guesthouse, #4)

Author Signature

Author Books

#
Title
Description
01

The Canal Boat Cafe is a warm and touching story told in four parts, from the best-selling author of A Christmas Tail, perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Holly Martin.

Summer Freeman returns to the waterside village of Willowbeck to help with the Canal Boat Café, which used to belong to her mother. Valerie, a fortune teller, has been running things, but the business is in a pickle. The coffee machine is jammed, the cake offerings are paltry, and not all of the locals want to see the café succeed. And then there’s the handsome wildlife photographer, Mason, from the boat next door, whose Border Terrier steals some bacon right under her nose. Her Bischon Frise, Latte, loves their boating neighbours, but Summer is less sure.
As her old life and the community of Willowbeck begin to entwine, Summer finds herself setting sail on a new adventure but will she find herself navigating choppy waters instead?

02
Summer Freeman has embarked on a new life afloat. She’s taking the Canal Boat Café on a scenic journey and is meeting old friends and new. Among the new is Claire from the bohemian boating community who is keen to take Summer under her wing. Mason, the handsome photographer from Willowbeck, seems intent on tracking her down, but Summer has discovered that Mason isn’t all that he seems to be.

Summer starts to feel a real sense of freedom amongst wandering river folk, but she soon finds herself missing Willowbeck… And Mason, whose articles she has been reading online. Will Summer embrace the nomadic lifestyle or will she find herself drawn back to Willowbeck, the place she loves best and where Mason is waiting?
03

Hilarious and touching, The Canal Boat Cafe series will appeal to fans of Game of Scones, Wickham Hall and The Grand Reopening of Dandelion Cafe.

Summer Freeman has been trying to make a go of the Canal Boat Café, but her love life is in rough waters. Mason, the handsome photographer from the boat next door, has left Willowbeck, and Summer’s Bichon Frise, Latte, misses his Border Terrier, Pocket, almost as much as Summer misses Mason.
But the sunshine has arrived and with the help of the roving river folk who are in Willowbeck for a festival, Summer tracks him down. The course of true doesn’t run smoothly and when the unthinkable happens, Mason and Summer must face up to their past if they are to save Willowbeck and the community she has grown to love. Will Summer finally drop anchor and call Willowbeck her home?

04
Next stop, Cornwall! Hop on The Cornish Cream Tea Bus for a delicious, romantic adventure…



‘Captivating’ Heat Magazine


‘Beautiful… heartwarming’ Zara Stoneley


‘A wonderful ray of reading sunshine’ Heidi Swain

Baking fanatic, Charlie Quilter, inherits a vintage bus in her late uncle’s will and is keen to give it a new lease of life. Charlie thinks it will be the perfect mobile café for afternoon tea, so she heads to the picturesque Cornish village of Porthgolow, hoping for a new start. However, Daniel Harper, the owner of the posh spa up on the hill isn’t very pleased that her bus is parked outside his lovely hotel. Has Charlie’s Cornish dream developed a soggy bottom? Or can she convince Daniel that her bus could take them somewhere wonderful?
05
Summer Freeman, who runs the Canal Boat Café in the waterside village of Willowbeck, is having the time of her life. She’s navigated the café out of some stormy waters and her best friend is helping her try out some new recipes. Summer and her neighbour Mason, as well as their dogs Pocket and Latte, are spending more and more time together and after a romantic evening in together (which her nosy friends won’t stop interrupting), Summer is excited about where things are headed…Until things run adrift.

As seasons change and secrets are uncovered, Summer has to decide who she can trust, including Mason. Can she find love and make a new life for herself in Willowbeck? Or will she choose to keep her heart below deck?
06
Summer Freeman returns to the waterside village of Willowbeck to rescue the Canal Boat Café, her late mother’s picturesque narrowboat, which has run into choppy waters. A family friend, Valerie, has been trying to keep things afloat, but the coffee machine is jammed, the cake offerings are paltry, and not all of the locals want to see the café succeed.

Help comes from the boat next door, in the shape of handsome wildlife photographer, Mason and his naughty Border Terrier, who are showing more than a passing interest in Summer and her adorable Bichon Frise, Latte. But is Mason being honest about himself? Or does he have something to hide?

As her life and the community of Willowbeck begin to entwine, Summer finds herself setting sail on a new adventure. Will the anchor of a steady life on land be too strong, or can Summer learn to cut loose and embrace life afloat?
07
A Christmas special continuing the charming and heart-warming story of The Canal Boat Café, the runaway bestseller

Summer and Mason take their upbeat and feelgood Canal Boat Café to London for Christmas, with unexpected results.

Starboard Home – Summer and Mason find themselves unexpectedly spending the entire Christmas holiday in Little Venice when the canal freezes over. But their idyllic winter excursion is thrown into turmoil when an unexpected visitor appears on the scene. Are Summer and Mason facing the Big Freeze in more ways than one? Or will this be one Winter Warmer that they’ll never forget?

08
A Christmas special continuing the charming and heart-warming story of The Canal Boat Café, the runaway bestseller.

Summer and Mason take their upbeat and feelgood Canal Boat Café to London for Christmas, with unexpected results.

Port Out – Summer is so in love with her boyfriend Mason and dreams of taking the next step with him, but is Mason ready too? When her friend Claire offers Summer a chance to come to London with her canal boat, Summer thinks this will give them a chance to find out, and they embark on a magical journey on the canal all the way to the scenic beauty of Little Venice. But will it be plain sailing all the way?

09
Baking fanatic, Charlie Quilter, is surprised when her late uncle bequeaths his vintage bus to her in his will. Charlie thinks it will be the perfect mobile café for afternoon tea, and when her friend, Juliette, suggests Charlie comes to stay with her in the picturesque Cornish village of Porthgolow, she’s thrilled at the chance of a new start.
Charlie and her cute dog, Marmite, make new friends wherever their bus stops – except for the attractive but reclusive owner of the posh spa up on the hill, Daniel Harper, who isn’t very pleased that her bus is parked outside his lovely hotel.
Has Charlie’s Cornish dream developed a soggy bottom? Or can she convince Daniel that her bus could be the start of something wonderful for the little village – and for them?
10

A warm welcome awaits…the charming new arrival from the No.1 bestselling author of The Canal Boat Cafe.

Robin decides that a grand gesture is what’s needed to prove her feelings to Will and, with the help of her guests, hatches a plan that he won’t be able to ignore. But when two of her guests go missing, the only thing that matters is their safe return.
As the summer season comes to an end, is Robin’s Campion Bay dream about to shut down too? Or will her guesthouse be one to return to year after year?

This s the final part of a four-part serial.